The Orissa Economics Association was founded in 1968 and was accorded the status of a learned registered society by the Government of Orissa under the Societies Registration Act, 1868 with the number 5358/1968-69 dt. 27.04.1968. It is one of the oldest Regional Academic Associations in the country.

Objectives :

The broad objectives of the Association are as follows:
i. To meet from time to time in order to discuss economic issues of contemporary interest.
ii. To impart necessary information and expertise to the teachers of economics in Odisha with a view to improving upon the methods and standards of teaching in economics.
iii. To stimulate research in the discipline of economics in the state.